This is the favorite room for all of the governors.  The Library holds a collections of books by Georgia authors.  Many are first editions.  Some of the authors represented are: Joel Chandler Harris, Carson McCullers, Flannery O’Connor, Erskine Caldwell, Sidney Lanier, Zell Miller, and Margaret Mitchell.  Many books in the library are signed by their authors.

The painting over the sofa of Andrew Jackson, our 7th President, was painted by Ralph Earle in 1812.

The most impressive piece in this room is the mahogany card table, made in Philadelphia (Circa 1815).  It once belonged to George Walton, who was the fourth state governor (and one of the Georgia signers of the Declaration of Independence).  Through his daughter, Madame Levert, the Committee was able to acquire the table, and it is in near mint condition.